Projets

Enquête nationale sur la nutrition à Oman

Projet en cours

GroundWork fournit un appui technique au Ministère de la Santé et à l’UNICEF pour planifier et mettre en œuvre une enquête nationale sur la nutrition à Oman. Le soutien de GroundWork comprend l’élaboration d’un protocole d’enquête scientifique, l’acquisition de matériel de collecte de sang, la formation du personnel sur le terrain, la supervision de la collecte des données, la coordination de l’évaluation des biomarqueurs, l’analyse des données et la rédaction du rapport d’enquête.

Analyse de la situation de l’iodation du sel et du statut d’iode en Angola

Projet terminé

Le Réseau mondial de l’iode (Iodine Global Network, IGN) vise à améliorer le statut de l’iode des individus en appuyant les programmes nationaux avec des orientations programmatiques. En cas de besoin, l’IGN compile les données nécessaires pour la conception et à l’évaluation des programmes d’iode. l’IGN a mené en collaboration avec GroundWork une analyse de la situation de l’iodation du sel et des troubles liées à la carence en iode en Angola. L’analyse de la situation documente toutes les informations relatives au marché du sel en Angola et au programme national d’iodation du sel. Cette analyse contient toutes les données recueillies par l’Angola sur les troubles liés à l’iode. En outre, l’analyse identifie les lacunes en matière d’information et fait des recommandations programmatiques et de recherche pour les parties prenantes de l’iode en Angola.

Aliments nutritifs et abordables pour les femmes (ANF4W) – Enquêtes sur la couverture du projet au Ghana

Projet en cours

Avec le soutien du Children’s Investment Fund Foundation (CIFF), le projet Aliments Nutritifs et Abordables pour les femmes (ANF4W) au Ghana vise à augmenter l’offre et la demande d’aliments nutritifs destinés aux femmes enceintes et aux jeunes femmes non enceintes (15-24 ans). Dans le cadre du projet, les entreprises alimentaires locales sont incitées à produire, à distribuer et à commercialiser des produits qui sont adéquatement enrichis et conçus pour répondre aux besoins nutritionnels de ces groupes cibles. Pour évaluer la couverture et la performance du projet, GroundWork (en collaboration avec l’Université du Ghana – Legon) a été engagé par la CIFF pour mettre en œuvre trois enquêtes de couverture (enquête de base, mi-parcours, et finale). Ces enquêtes examineront la distribution, l’achat et la consommation des aliments fortifiés.

Revue de littérature et méta-analyse: Le potentiel de la biofortification pour réduire la malnutrition pendant les 1000 premiers jours de vie

Projet terminé

Dans le cadre de sa nouvelle phase d’opérations (2014-2018), HarvestPlus vise à développer les programmes de biofortification et à établir de nouvelles preuves scientifiques pour l’impact de la biofortification. En particulier, HarvestPlus cherche à étendre la preuve de concept se basant sur une seule culture biofortifiée à un panier alimentaire multi-biofortifié. HarvestPlus développe également ses programmes en se focalisant sur la période de 1000 jours entre la conception et l’âge de deux ans. Pour mieux comprendre l’impact potentiel des aliments biofortifiés pendant cette période, GroundWork mène une revue de littérature exhaustive et une méta-analyse des résultats des interventions uniques et multiples de supplémentation et de fortification en micronutriments sur l’anémie et les carences en micronutriments.

Évaluation d’un projet pilote de micronutriments en poudre dans le nord de l’Éthiopie

Projet en cours

Concern Worldwide et Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN) mettent en œuvre conjointement un projet pilote de micronutriments en poudre (MNP) dans les régions de Tigray et d’Amhara, dans le nord de l’Éthiopie. Le projet s’adresse aux enfants de 6 à 23 mois et sera mis en œuvre par le biais du système de santé publique éthiopien. La distribution des MNP est complétée par des campagnes de changement de comportement (BCC) visant à promouvoir des pratiques optimales d’alimentation des nourrissons et des jeunes enfants (IYCF). Dans le cadre de l’évaluation du projet, des enquêtes de base et finale sont effectuées pour évaluer la couverture, l’utilisation, l’adhésion et les pratiques de l’IYCF. GroundWork fournit une expertise scientifique et technique pour concevoir ces enquêtes et pour interpréter les données de surveillance du projet.

Enquête de ligne de base et appui en suivi au projet RAIN+ de Concern Zambie

Projet terminé

Concern Worldwide met actuellement en œuvre la deuxième phase du projet ‘Realigning Agriculture for Improved Nutrition’ (RAIN ; Renforcement de l’agriculture pour une nutrition améliorée) dans le District de Mumbwa en Zambie. Cette deuxième phase intitulée RAIN+ a pour but d’améliorer la nutrition et la santé des femmes et jeunes enfants par le biais d’interventions intégrées en agriculture, nutrition, santé, et émancipation des femmes. GroundWork fournit l’expertise technique pour le suivi du projet et conçoit l’enquête de base, avec la procédure d’échantillonnage détaillée, la création du questionnaire, la formation des équipes de terrain, l’analyse des données et la publication des résultats.

Appui en suivi régulateur auprès du programme éthiopien d’iodation du sel

Projet terminé

Depuis 2011, l’iodation obligatoire du sel en Ethiopie a considérablement augmenté la couverture de sel iodé. Des enquêtes récentes démontrent que 95% du sel est iodé, mais que seulement un quart est ‘adéquatement iodé’, c’est-à-dire contenant suffisamment d’iode pour réduire les troubles dus à la carence en iode. Dans le but d’améliorer la couverture avec du sel adéquatement iodé, GroundWork fournit un appui technique à GAIN en évaluant le programme éthiopien d’iodation du sel et en proposant des améliorations au système de suivi régulateur du gouvernement. En particulier, GroundWork a identifié des points de contrôle critiques et a développé des outils de suivi de régulation dans le cadre du renforcement des capacités de l’agence gouvernementale en charge.

Validation des tests rapides électroniques pour le dosage du taux d’iode dans le sel

Projet terminé

Au cours des deux décades précédentes, d’excellent progrès ont été faits dans les efforts de réduction des troubles dus aux carences en iode, à travers les programmes universels d’iodation de sel. Afin d’assurer un succès durable, un suivi soigné des dosages dans le sel est crucial, tant au niveau de la production que de l’importation et la consommation. Pour simplifier ce suivi, plusieurs types de test rapides ont été développés, dont les kits sont pour la plupart disponibles commercialement. GroundWork collabore avec l’Initiative des Micronutriments ainsi qu’avec d’autres partenaires pour valider et comparer une série de kits. La validation inclura d’une part une évaluation typique de la performance au laboratoire, et de l’autre part une évaluation de la facilité d’usage sur terrain, prenant en compte les éventuelles difficultés d’aquisition, les besoins de formation, et la gestion des déchets. Le projet a pour but de fournir une guidance dans la sélection des kits à usages spécifiques pour des organisations et des professionnels s’engageant dans le domaine de l’iodation de sel.

Enquête de couverture des produits fortifié pour le nourrisson et le jeune enfant à Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire et Telangana, Inde

Projet terminé

GroundWork fournit un appui technique à GAIN pour la planification et la mise en œuvre des enquêtes de couverture, afin d’évaluer l’accessibilité et l’usage des produits fortifiés pour le nourrisson et le jeune enfant. Le soutien de GroundWork comprend le développement d’un protocole scientifique d’enquête, la formation du personnel de terrain, la supervision de la collecte des données, l’analyse des données et la rédaction du rapport.

Enquête Nationale sur le statut de l’iode et de l’anémie au Burkina Faso

Projet terminé

GroundWork fournit un appui technique à UNICEF et aux acteurs nationaux pour la planification et la mise en œuvre d’une enquête nationale sur le statut de l’iode et de l’anémie au Burkina Faso. Le soutien de GroundWork inclut le développement d’un protocole scientifique d’enquête, le support à l’acquisition du matériel pour la collecte de sang et d’urine, la formation du personnel de terrain, la supervision de la collecte des données, l’analyse des données et la rédaction du rapport d’enquête.

Appui au component biochimique dans deux études de poudres de multinutriments et d’agriculture familiale au Burkina Faso et en Tanzanie

Projet terminé

Alors que les interventions encourageant les jardins familiaux et le renforcement d’éducation nutritionnelle (généralement appelées projets d’agriculture familiale) sont mises en œuvre dans de nombreux pays, leur capacité d’améliorer durablement l’anémie et la carence en fer des jeunes enfants nécessite plus de preuves. Pour adresser ce manque de connaissances, deux études portant sur l’effet nutritionnel de poudres de multinutriments (aka Sprinkles) et l’amélioration de la production alimentaire familiale vont être réalisées au Burkina Faso et en Tanzanie. GroundWork fournira la logistique et la formation pour ces études, plus précisément, nous gèrerons l’achat des matériaux spécialisés pour la collection et le traitement d’échantillons de sang, ainsi que la formation des phlébotomistes avant le commencement des études.

Test des performances des nouvelles variétés de haricots à faible taux d’acide phytique chez les femmes rwandaises déficientes en fer

Projet terminé

Il a été démontré que les haricots sont un véhicule prometteur pour la bio-fortification en fer, et les variétés riches en fer ont le potentiel de réduire la prévalence de la carence en fer dans les populations consommant des haricots. Néanmoins, la biodisponibilité du fer dans les haricots est faible et des études récentes supposent que cela est dû à la teneur élevée en acide phytique dans les haricots, puisque la liaison du fer et de l’acide phytique empêche l’absorption du fer chez l’individu. Dans le but de réduire la carence en fer dans les pays en développement, des variétés de haricots très faibles en acide phytique (environ 1000 pg / g de haricots ) ont été développées récemment. Pour comparer l’absorption de ces nouveaux haricots avec des variétés riches en fer existantes, GroundWork a été chargé par HarvestPlus de mener une étude de repas multiples avec des isotopes stables chez les femmes carencées en fer au Rwanda. GroundWork mettra en œuvre cette étude en collaboration avec l’Université nationale du Rwanda et l’ETH-Zurich.

Analyse de réduction du retard de croissance en Ethiopie

Projet terminé

Au cours de la dernière décennie, l’Ethiopie a fait d’énormes progrès dans la lutte contre la malnutrition. Le retard de croissance (une mesure de malnutrition chronique) a été considérablement amélioré, diminuant d’environ 14 points de pourcentage depuis 2000. Afin d’accélérer la réduction de la prévalence du retard de croissance et poursuivre l’amélioration de l’état nutritionnel et la santé des enfants en Ethiopie, GroundWork a entrepris une analyse des enquêtes démographiques et de santé en Éthiopie pour les années 2000, 2005 et 2011, afin de déterminer les causes possibles de retard de croissance et réciproquement, les raisons de l’amélioration au cours de la dernière décennie.

Sierra Leone – Enquête nationale sur les micronutriments

Projet terminé

GroundWork fournit un appui technique à l’OMS et aux acteurs nationaux pour la planification et la mise en œuvre d’une enquête nationale sur les micronutriments en Sierra Leone. Le soutien de GroundWork comprend le développement d’un protocole scientifique d’enquête, la formation du personnel de terrain, la supervision de la collecte des données, l’analyse des données et la rédaction du rapport d’enquête.

Le potentiel du haricot comme moyen de biofortification en fer – Revue

Projet terminé

Avec HarvestPlus, GroundWork procède à une revue systématique de la littérature publiée et non publiée sur la faisabilité, l’efficacité et le potentiel de haricots biofortifiées en fer pour traiter la carence en fer dans les pays en développement. Comme l’une des principales difficultés de la biofortification en fer du haricot est la faible disponibilité du fer, la revue accorde une attention particulière à des composés tels que l’acide phytique et les polyphénols qui inhibent l’absorption du fer.

Azerbaïdjan – Enquête nationale sur les micronutriments

Projet terminé

GroundWork fournit un appui technique à l’UNICEF et aux acteurs nationaux pour la planification et la mise en œuvre d’une enquête nationale sur les micronutriments en Azerbaïdjan. Le soutien de GroundWork comprend le développement d’un protocole scientifique d’enquête, la formation du personnel de terrain, la supervision de la collecte des données, l’analyse des données et la rédaction du rapport d’enquête.

Mozambique – Enquête sur les micronutriments

Projet terminé

GroundWork fournit actuellement une assistance technique et de supervision de la composante biomarqueurs de l’enquête sur les micronutriments 2012 au Mozambique. Ce soutien comprend la co-élaboration du protocole scientifique d’étude, la formation du personnel de terrain, et la supervision de la collecte des données. GroundWork appuiera également l’analyse des résultats de l’enquête et la rédaction du rapport. Cette enquête servira de base au programme national de fortification alimentaire du Mozambique.

Kenya – Enquête nationale sur les micronutriments

Projet terminé

GroundWork fournit actuellement une assistance technique aux parties prenantes de l’enquête nationale du Kenya pour les micronutriments. Cette assistance comprend la coordination de l’envoi et de l’analyse d’échantillons biologiques, l’analyse des résultats de l’enquête et la rédaction du rapport.

Plan de S & E Nutrition du PAM pour la Réponse du Sahel 2012

Projet terminé

La région du Sahel a maintes fois souffert de situations d’insécurité alimentaire qui atteignent des niveaux critiques ou d’urgence, et les systèmes d’alerte précoce de famine ont prévu une urgence nutritionnelle en 2012. Avant la réponse du PAM à la crise, GroundWork a soutenu les bureaux pays en Afrique de l’Ouest pour renforcer le suivi et l’évaluation (S & E) des systèmes qui sont utilisés pour apprécier la performance des programmes (p.ex. blanket supplementary feeding) conçus pour prévenir l’apparition de la malnutrition chez les jeunes enfants et les femmes en âge de procréer.

Alimentation infantile et carences nutritionnelles des nourrissons et des jeunes enfants dans les Philippines urbaines

Projet terminé

Afin de mieux comprendre les liens entre les habitudes alimentaires et l’état nutritionnel des enfants de 6 à 23 mois dans les zones urbaines, GroundWork a soutenu GAIN pour analyser les données et rédiger le manuscrit d’une enquête transversale sur cinq centres urbains aux Philippines. Les données relatives à l’alimentation et à l’état nutritionnel de nourrissons et de jeunes enfants (y compris émaciation, retard de croissance, insuffisance pondérale, anémie, carence en fer et en vitamine A) ont été analysés, et le manuscrit a publié dans le Food and Nutrition Bulletin à la mi-2013.

Projects

Ghana Micronutrient Survey

Project Ongoing

 
In collaboration with the University of Ghana-Legon, GroundWork is conducting the Ghana Micronutrient Survey (GMS 2017), a national micronutrient and nutrition survey that is being implemented in all regions of Ghana. The survey is funded by UNICEF and has been mandated by the Ghana Health Services. GroundWork and the University of Ghana-Legon lead on all aspects of the survey, starting from planning the survey, organizing for field and laboratory logistics, data entry and analysis, and reporting and dissemination.

Determinants of stunting, wasting and anemia in Guinea and assessment of nutritional response during the Ebola outbreak in Guinea and Sierra Leone

Project Ongoing

 
In collaboration with UNICEF, GroundWork has analyzed data from DHS and SMART surveys to document the nutritional trends in children and women, and to investigate the determinants of stunting, wasting, and anemia in Guinea. In addition, GroundWork has conducted extensive qualitative research on the impact of the Ebola outbreak on nutritional care during and after the outbreak for both affected and non-affected populations, with a particular focus on infant and young child feeding practices. This qualitative research has been conducted in both Guinea and Sierra Leone in collaboration with UNICEF (Guinea) and Focus1000 (Sierra Leone).

Oman National Nutrition Survey

Project Ongoing

 
GroundWork is providing technical support to the Ministry of Health and UNICEF to plan and implement a national nutrition survey in Oman. GroundWork’s support includes the development of a scientific survey protocol, procurement of blood collection materials, training of survey field staff, supervision of data collection, coordination of biomarker assessment, data analysis and drafting of the survey report.

Investigating the association between enteropathy and stunting in young children in Tanzania

Project Ongoing

 
In collaboration the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI), Helen Keller International (HKI), and the World Health Organization (WHO), Tanzania’s National Institute for Medical Research (NIMR) and GroundWork have conducted a case-control study to investigate the associations between stunting and biomarkers of environmental enteropathy in young children in Tanzania’s Lake Zone. Along with questionnaire data collected as part of an endline study implemented by IFPRI, HKI, and NIMR, enteropathy biomarkers were measured in blood and stool samples collected from children 22-28 months of age. As part of this project, GroundWork developed the scientific protocol, procured stool collection and laboratory analysis materials, trained survey field staff, and conducted laboratory analysis.

Uzbekistan National Nutrition Survey

Project Ongoing

 
GroundWork is providing technical support to the Ministry of Health and UNICEF to plan and implement a national nutrition survey in Uzbekistan. Previously, GroundWork has developed a survey protocol and is now providing support to the procurement of blood collection materials, training of survey field staff, supervision of data collection, coordination of biomarker assessment, data analysis and drafting of the survey report.

Situation analysis of salt iodization and iodine status in Angola

Project Completed

 
The Iodine Global Network aims to improve the iodine status of individuals by supporting national programs with consistent programmatic guidance. When data is lacking, IGN compiles the data required to design and evaluate iodine programs. In collaboration, the Iodine Global Network and GroundWork conducted a situation analysis of salt iodization and iodine deficiency disorders in Angola. The situation analysis documents all information related to Angola’s salt market and national salt iodization program and contains all evidence from Angola on iodine deficiency disorders. In addition, the situation analysis identifies the information gaps and makes research and programmatic recommendations for iodine stakeholders in Angola.

Affordable Nutritious Foods for Women (ANF4W) project – Ghana coverage surveys

Project Ongoing

 
Supported by the Children’s Investment Fund Foundation (CIFF), the Affordable Nutritious Foods for Women (ANF4W) project in Ghana aims to increase the supply and demand for nutritious foods targeted at pregnant women and non-pregnant young women (15-24 years). As part of the project, locally-based food companies are incentivized to produce, distribute, and market food products that are adequately fortified and designed to meet the nutritional needs of these target groups. To assess the project’s coverage and performance, GroundWork (in collaboration with the University of Ghana – Legon) has been contracted by CIFF to implement three coverage surveys (baseline, midline, endline). These surveys will examine the marketing and distribution of the selected fortified foods, and will measure the purchase and consumption of these products.

Literature review and meta-analysis: The potential of biofortification to reduce malnutrition during the 1,000 day window

Project Completed

 
During its new phase of operations (2014-2018), HarvestPlus aims to scale up biofortification programs and establish new scientific evidence. Specifically, HarvestPlus seeks to extend its proof of concept from a single biofortified crop to a multiple-biofortified food basket approach. HarvestPlus is also expanding its programs to pregnant women and children 0-24 months of age to improve nutrition during the “1000-day window”. To better understand the potential impact of biofortified foods on these new target groups, GroundWork is conducting a comprehensive review and meta-analysis of single and multiple micronutrient supplementation and fortification interventions on birth outcomes, growth, anemia and micronutrient status among children of less than two years of age.

Evaluation of a micronutrient powder pilot project in Northern Ethiopia

Project Ongoing

 
Concern Worldwide and the Global Alliance for Improved Nutrition (GAIN) are jointly implementing a micronutrient powder (MNP) pilot project in the Tigray and Amhara regions of Northern Ethiopia. The project is targeted to children 6-23 months of age and will be implemented via Ethiopia’s public health system. The distribution of MNPs is complemented by behaviour change campaigns (BCC) to promote optimal infant and young child feeding (IYCF) practices. As part of the pilot project’s evaluation, baseline and endline surveys are conducted to assess MNP coverage, utilization, adherence, and IYCF practices. GroundWork provides scientific and technical expertise to design the baseline and endpoint assessments and to interpret program monitoring data.

Baseline survey and monitoring support to Concern’s RAIN+ project in Zambia

Project Completed

 
Concern Worldwide is conducting a second phase of its Realigning Agriculture for Improved Nutrition (RAIN) project in Zambia’s Mumbwa District. This second phase (referred to as RAIN+ ) aims to improve nutrition and health outcomes for women and young children by providing integrated agriculture, nutrition, health, and women’s empowerment interventions. GroundWork is providing technical assistance related to project monitoring and is designing the project’s baseline survey by detailing the sampling procedures, drafting the survey questionnaire, training data collection staff, analyzing the data collected, and reporting the results.

Regulatory monitoring support to Ethiopia’s salt iodization program

Project Completed

 
Since 2011, the enforcement of salt iodization in Ethiopia has dramatically increased the coverage of iodized salt; according to recent surveys, approximately 95% of salt contains some iodine, but only one quarter of salt is “adequately iodized”: containing the appropriate concentrations of iodine to alleviate iodine deficiency disorders. To improve the coverage of adequately iodized salt, GroundWork is providing technical support to GAIN by assessing Ethiopia’s salt iodization program and recommending improvements to the government’s regulatory monitoring and surveillance system. In particular, GroundWork has identified critical control points for iodized salt and developed monitoring tools to strengthen the capacity of the government’s regulatory agency.

Validation of electronic rapid test kits for quantitative salt iodine analysis

Project Completed

 
Significant global progress has been made in the past two decades to reduce iodine deficiency disorders through universal salt iodization programs. To ensure sustained success, careful monitoring of iodization levels at production, importation and end- consumption is critical. To simplify the monitoring process, several electronic rapid test kits for quantitative salt iodine content analysis, have been developed and are mostly commercially available. GroundWork is collaborating with the Micronutrient Initiative and other stakeholders on the comparative validation of a series of such devices. This validation will include both typical laboratory performance assessments and the user- and field-friendliness of devices, including challenges of procurement, training requirements, and waste disposal procedures. The project aims to provide device-guidance based on specified use for organizations and professional staff advancing universal salt iodization.

Coverage of fortified complementary foods in Côte d’Ivoire and India

Project Completed

 
GroundWork is providing technical support to GAIN to implement coverage surveys to assess the accessibility and use of fortified complementary foods (for infants and young children) in two locations: Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire and Telangana, India. GroundWork’s support includes the development of scientific survey protocols, training of survey field staff, supervision of data collection, data analysis and reporting.

National Anemia and Iodine status survey in Burkina Faso

Project Completed

 
GroundWork is providing technical support to UNICEF and national stakeholders to plan and implement a national anemia and iodine status survey in young children, school aged children, non-pregnant and pregnant women in Burkina Faso. GroundWork’s support includes the development of a scientific survey protocol, assistance to procure blood/urine collection materials, training of survey field staff, supervision of data collection, data analysis and drafting of the survey report.

Supporting biochemical analysis component of multinutrient powder and homestead food production research studies in Burkina Faso and Tanzania

Project Completed

 
While interventions promoting home gardens and strengthening nutrition education (commonly referred to as homestead food production projects) are implemented in many countries, their ability to sustainably improve the anemia and iron status of young children requires further evidence. To address this knowledge gap, GroundWork is providing logistic and training support to two research studies investigating the nutritional impact of multinutrient powders (aka Sprinkles) and enhanced homestead food production in Burkina Faso and Tanzania. Specifically, GroundWork is managing the procurement of specialty supplies for the collection and processing of blood samples and training phlebotomists prior to the commencement of the research studies.

Testing the performance of newly developed low phytic acid bean varieties in iron deficient Rwandese women

Project Completed

 
Beans have been shown to be a promising vehicle for iron biofortification and biofortified high-iron varieties have the potential to reduce the prevalence of iron deficiency in bean-consuming populations. Nevertheless iron bioavailability from beans is low and recent studies surmise that this is due to beans’ high phytic acid content as the binding of iron and phytic acid prevents an individual’s absorption of the iron. To address this issue, bean varieties that have very low amounts of phytic acid (about 1000µg/g bean) have been recently developed in an attempt to serve as a sustainable approach for increasing iron intake. To compare the absorption of low phytic acid beans with existing biofortified high-iron varieties, GroundWork has been tasked by HarvestPlus conduct a multiple meal stable-isotope study in iron-deficient women in Rwanda. GroundWork will implement this study in collaboration with the National University of Rwanda and ETH-Zurich.

Analysis of Stunting Reduction in Ethiopia

Project Completed

 
Over the past decade, Ethiopia has made huge strides in fighting malnutrition. Child stunting (a measure of chronic malnutrition) has shown considerable improvement, decreasing by approximately 14 percentage points since 2000. In order to accelerate the reduction in the prevalence of stunting and continue the improvement in the nutritional and health status of children in Ethiopia, GroundWork is undertaking an analysis of Ethiopia’s 2000, 2005, and 2011 Demographic and Health Surveys to assess the potential causes of stunting and reciprocally, reasons for improvement over the past decade.

Sierra Leone National Micronutrient Survey

Project Completed

 
GroundWork is providing technical support to WHO and national stakeholders to plan and implement a national micronutrient survey in Sierra Leone. GroundWork’s support includes the development of a scientific survey protocol, assistance to procure blood/urine collection materials, training of survey field staff, supervision of data collection, data analysis and drafting of the survey report.

The potential of the common bean as a vehicle for iron biofortification – A Review

Project Completed

 
With HarvestPlus, GroundWork is conducting a systematic review of the published and unpublished literature on the feasibility, efficacy, and potential of iron biofortified beans to address iron deficiency in developing countries. As one of the major bottlenecks of bean iron biofortification is the low iron bioavailability, the review pays particular attention to compounds such as phytic acid and polyphenols that inhibit iron absorption.

Azerbaijan National Micronutrient Survey

Project Completed

 
GroundWork is providing technical support to UNICEF and national stakeholders to plan and implement a national micronutrient survey in Azerbaijan. GroundWork’s support includes the development of a scientific survey protocol, training of survey field staff, supervision of data collection, analysis of data and drafting of the survey report.

Mozambique Micronutrient Survey

Project Ongoing

 
GroundWork is currently providing technical assistance and oversight of the biomarker component of the 2012-2013 Micronutrient Survey in Mozambique. This support includes the co-development of the scientific survey protocol, the training of survey field staff, and supervision of data collection. GroundWork will also support the analysis of the survey results and drafting of the report. This survey will serve as the baseline to Mozambique’s national food fortification program.

Kenya National Micronutrient Survey

Project Completed

 
GroundWork is currently providing technical assistance to the stakeholders of the Kenya National Micronutrient Survey. This assistance includes coordinating the shipment and analysis of biological samples, the analysis of the survey results, and the drafting of the survey report.

Supporting M&E for WFP’s 2012 Sahel Response

Project Completed

 
Africa’s Sahel region has repeatedly suffered from situations of food insecurity that reach critical or emergency levels, and famine early warning systems forecasted a nutrition emergency in 2012. Prior to WFP’s response to the emergency, GroundWork supported country offices in West Africa to strengthen the monitoring and evaluation (M&E) systems that are used to assess the performance of programs (e.g. blanket supplementary feeding) designed to prevent the onset of malnutrition among young children and women of reproductive age.

Infant and young child feeding practices and nutritional deficiencies in the Philippines

Project Completed

 
To better understand the associations between feeding practices and the nutritional status of children 6 to 23 months of age in urban areas, GroundWork has supported GAIN to analyze data and draft a manuscript from a cross-sectional survey of five urban centers in the Philippines. Data on infant and young child feeding and nutritional status (including wasting, stunting, underweight, anemia, iron deficiency, and vitamin A deficiency) were analyzed, and the manuscript will be published in the Food and Nutrition Bulletin in mid 2013.